## 2021-2022 Academic Senate

## MINUTES May 10, 2021

I. The meeting was called to order at 4:00 p.m. and roll call was taken via Zoom Participant List by the Senate Administrator. Forty-six Senators were present.

Ex Officio:	HHS Representatives:
Present: Van Selst, Curry, Rodan,	Present: Schultz-Krohn, Sen, Baur
Kaur, McKee	Smith
Absent: None	Absent: None
Administrative Representatives:	COB Representatives:
Present: Del Casino	Present: Rao, Tian
Absent: Faas, Day, Papazian, Wong(Lau)	Absent: None
Deans / AVPs:	EDUC Representatives:
Present: Lattimer, Ehrman, d'Alarcao, Shillington	Present: Mathur
Absent: None	Absent: None
Students:	ENGR Representatives:
Present: Chuang, Cramer, Sandoval-Rios,	Present: Sullivan-Green, Saldamli, Okamoto
Allen, Kumar	Absent: None
Absent: Walker	
Alumni Representative:	H&A Representatives:
Absent:: Walters	Present: Hsu, Khan, Frazier, Massey, Kataoka, Han
	Absent: None
Emeritus Representative:	SCI Representatives:
Present: McClory	Present: Cargill, White, Maciejewski
	Absent: French
Honorary Representative:	SOS Representatives:
Present: Lessow-Hurley	Present: Hart, Sasikumar, Wilson, Raman, Haverfield
	Absent: None
General Unit Representatives:	
Present: Masegian, Monday, Yang, Lee	
Higgins	
Absent: None	

- II. Land Acknowledgement: The land acknowledgement is a formal statement that recognizes the history and legacy of colonialism that has impacted our Indigenous peoples, their traditional territories, and their practices. It is a simple and powerful way of showing respect and a step towards correcting the stories and practices that have erased our Indigenous people's history and culture and it is a step towards inviting and honoring the truth. Senator Reiko Kataoka read the Land Acknowledgement.
- III. Approval of Academic Senate Minutes— There were no minutes for approval.
- IV. Communications and Questions -
  - A. From the Chair of the Senate:

Chair McKee welcomed new Senators for AY 2021-2022.

Chair McKee announced that today's meeting was primarily to elect Senate Officers for the 2021-2022 Academic Senate and thanked all the candidates for their willingness to serve as leaders in the Senate.

This meeting will be recorded for purposes of transcribing the minutes. Only the Senate Administrator and Chair McKee will have access to it.

The Senate Administrator will be using the Participant List to do Roll Call.

Please ensure you mute when not speaking. If you are having bandwidth issues, please consider stopping your video. Please wait until you are called, but you may post your questions in the chat. We will vote using the polling feature. Please do not email the Chair during the meeting. Use private chat instead

**B. From the President:** Not present/no report.

## V. Executive Committee Report:

#### A. Minutes of the Executive Committee:

There were no minutes for approval.

#### B. Consent Calendar:

There was no dissent to the initial consent calendar of appointments for 2021-2022 as presented by Senator Marachi.

#### C. Executive Committee Action Items:

None.

## VI. Unfinished Business: None.

## VII. Policy Committee and University Library Board Action Items (In rotation)

- A. Curriculum and Research Committee (C&R): None
- B. Organization and Government Committee (O&G): None
- C. University Library Board (ULB): None
- D. Instruction and Student Affairs Committee (I&SA): None
- E. Professional Standards Committee (PS): None

## VIII. State of the University Announcements:

- A. Vice President for Student Affairs: No report.
- B. Chief Diversity Officer: No report.
- C. CSU Faculty Trustee (by standing invitation): No report.
- D. Statewide Academic Senators: No report.
- E. Provost: No report.
- F. Associated Students President: No report.
- G. Vice President for Administration and Finance:

## IX. Special Committee Reports:

## X. New Business:

Election of Senate Officers for 2021-2022.

#### A. Election of the Vice Chair:

Chair McKee announced the candidates for Vice Chair are Senators Sasikumar and White and called for any additional nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Senators Sasikumar and White presented their statements of interest. Senator Sasikumar was elected.

## B. Election of the Associate Vice Chair:

Chair McKee announced the candidate for Associate Vice Chair is Senator Massey and called for any nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Senator Massey presented her statement of interest. Senator Massey was elected.

## C. Election of the Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee:

Chair McKee announced the candidates for Chair of the Curriculum and Research Committee are Senators Sasikumar and White and called for any nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Senator Sasikumar withdrew her nomination. Senator White was elected.

## D. Election of the Chair of the Professional Standards Committee:

Chair McKee announced the candidate for the Professional Standards Committee is Senator Cargill and called for any nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Senator Cargill presented her statement of interest. Senator Cargill was elected.

# E. Election of the CSU Statewide Representative to the Executive Committee:

Chair McKee announced the candidates for the CSU Statewide Representative to the Executive Committee are Senators Van Selst and Curry. There were no additional nominations. Senators Van Selst and Curry presented their statements of interest. Senator Curry was elected.

## F. Election of the Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee:

Chair McKee announced the candidate for the Chair of the Instruction and Student Affairs Committee is Senator Laura Sullivan-Green and called for any nominations from the floor. There were no additional nominations. Senator Sullivan-Green was elected.

## G. Election of the Chair of the Organization and Government Committee:

Chair McKee announced the candidate for the Chair of the Organization and Government Committee was Senator Sasikumar and called for any nominations from the floor. Senator Sasikumar withdrew her nomination. Senator Hart was nominated from the floor and accepted the nomination. Senator Hart was elected.

XI. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 5:00 p.m.