

Office of the President

One Washington Square San José, CA 95192-0002 Voice: 408-924-1177 Fax: 408-924-1199 E-mail: sjsupres@sjsu.edu http://www.sjsu.edu

President: Don W. Kassing February 27, 2008

PD 2007-05 Revised 2-27-2008

MEMO TO: Administrative Heads, Chairs, Deans, Directors and

Vice Presidents

FROM: Don W. Kassing &m w. Kassin

President

SUBJECT: Presidential Directive 2007-05 Revised (Supersedes PD 99-02, as

revised on 2-4-2003, and PD-07-05 as issued on October 11, 2007)

Parking, Traffic and Transit Advisory Committee

Presidential Directive 2007-05, issued on October 11, 2007 has been revised and is being reissued. This revision supersedes the original PD 2007-05, which was revised so that it encompasses only those matters that are not within the scope of bargaining.

On October 18, 1999, in conjunction with Sense of the Senate Resolution S99-2, President Robert L. Caret established an official group to advise on parking, traffic and transit matters within the University's jurisdiction. This directive superseded any previous policies and committees designated for this purpose. PD 99-02 was revised on February 4, 2003 to expand the membership to include 1) the manager of Transportation Solutions (or the duly designated campus Transportation Demand Management (TDM) program) as a voting member; and 2) a staff member from the TDM program who is familiar with the alternative transportation needs of the campus community, selected by the manager of Transportation Solutions (or the duly designated campus TDM program), as a non-voting member.

The revised PD 99-02 is being further modified and reissued as PD 07-05. Changes in PD 07-05 include creating a broader based selection process for the appointment of San José State staff employees to the Committee, adding two voting members (one from the Disability Resource Center and one from Campus Housing), and deleting Section G,

**G. Review:** The provisions and procedures of this directive will be reviewed at the end of a representative period, in order to seek recommendations for appropriate revisions, if necessary.

Presidential Directive 2007-05 can be found online at www.sjsu.edu/president/directives.

#### The California State University:

Chancellor's Office
Bakersfield, Channel Islands, Chico,
Dominguez Hills, East Bay, Fresno,
Fullerton, Humboldt, Long Beach, Los
Angeles, Maritime Academy, Monterey Bay,
Northridge, Pomona, Sacramento, San
Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San
Jose, San Louis Obispo, San Marcos,
Sonoma, Stanislaus

## Presidential Directive 2007-05 (Revised 2-27-2008)

# Parking, Traffic and Transit Advisory Committee (Supersedes PD 99-02 as revised on February 4, 2003)

On October 18, 1999, in conjunction with Sense of the Senate Resolution S99-2, President Robert L. Caret established an official group (the Parking, Traffic, and Transit Advisory Committee) to advise on parking, traffic and transit matters within the University's jurisdiction. This directive superseded any previous policies and committees designated for this purpose.

On December 16, 2002, the Parking, Traffic, and Transit Advisory Committee voted to request a revision to PD 99-02 to expand the membership to include 1) the manager of Transportation Solutions (or the duly designated campus Transportation Demand Management [TDM] program) as a voting member; and 2) a staff member from the TDM program who is familiar with the alternative transportation needs of the campus community, selected by the manager of Transportation Solutions (or the duly designated campus TDM program), as a non-voting member. PD 99-02 was revised on February 4, 2003, in response to the unanimous recommendation of committee members.

**A. Charge:** To advise, directly, the University Police Department and, indirectly (through the Vice President for Administration and Finance) the President and the President's staff, about policies, processes, and practices regarding parking, traffic and transit at SJSU. The committee's purpose is to be an important conduit of information to and from UPD (including the Office of Traffic and Parking Operations) and the campus community. The committee is not authorized to formulate policy, or negotiate or receive input or make determinations concerning matters within the scope of bargaining, nor shall it be a review board for individual cases. However, it should devise methods for keeping the campus community informed of its activities and provide a venue for open dialogue regarding current and planned operations, possible solutions and suggestions, as well as discussion of problems and concerns, from all campus constituents.

**B. Membership:** The committee shall be composed of 12 voting members (excluding non-voting, *ex officio* members):

#### **Voting:**

- Three (3) students: selected by the Associated Students in accordance with its established procedures;
- Three (3) faculty: selected by the Academic Senate in accordance with its established procedures;
- One (1) non-bargaining unit staff employee selected by the Human Resources Coordinating Council (HRCC), from a list of nominees and self-nominees from each of the divisions across the University;
- One (1) representative of the University Police Department who has line responsibility for traffic and parking operations (e.g., the Support Services Commander);
- The manager of Transportation Solutions (or the duly designated campus Transportation Demand Management (TDM) program).

- One (1) representative from the Disability Resource Center (DRC) selected by the Director of the DRC;
- One (1) representative from Housing selected by the Director of Housing;
- One (1) representative of the surrounding campus neighborhood associations, selected by the other voting committee members from a list of nominees and self-nominees.

### Ex Officio:

- A minimum of one *ex officio*, non-voting member from the staff of UPD, selected by the Chief of University Police;
- An *ex officio*, non-voting member of the University Public Affairs Office, selected by the Vice President for University Advancement;
- A staff member from the TDM program selected by the manager of Transportation Solutions (or the duly designated campus TDM program).

When selecting members, good faith attempts should be made to balance various campus community interests.

#### C. Chair:

- One year term, with full voting rights retained,
- Elected from the voting membership by the voting membership,
- Reappointments are permitted.

#### D. Term:

- Members of the committee will serve two-year terms, effective October 1,
- Reappointments are permitted,
- Terms of office are to be staggered as much as possible.
- **E. Meetings:** The committee shall meet at least twice a semester, and may be asked to meet during academic breaks, if necessary. Generally, the meetings will be closed; however, the committee may choose to open all or part of the meetings to invited guests.
- **F. Quorum:** A majority of the total membership, including the chair, shall constitute a quorum. Vacant seats or *ex officio* members shall not be included in determining a quorum.